About Me!!

Hey Sweetheart!!!Photo on 4-13-13 at 1.41 PM #2

My name is Monique and I’ll be running My Natural Hair Journey.

I want to use this space to show you:

  • How I’ll style me my hair
  • Hair hair care process
  • The products I’m using
  • How I feel about certain things
  • My set backs
  • And anything in between.

Before I start posting about what I’m doing now, let’s go back to what I did before.

Here’s my Hair Story!

I haven’t had a relaxer or highlights since the end of 2010 when my hair fell out due to stress. So. my hairdresser suggested I give it a break and put it in braids for awhile. So, I put my hair in sis twists and senegalese braids for 2011 to the summer of 2012.

Sis Twist Braids

During the summer I decided to take my hair out, just for a couple of months, to allow my hair to breath and rest. But, I fell in love with my natural curls and I couldn’t hide them back in braids.

So I did some research, with my mom, and we found the Deva Girl Method which emphasizes removing silicones and sulfates from your hair regiment. And that’s exactly what I did. I used the Deva Curl One Condition, Coconut Oil, and Shea Butter to wash and moisturize my hair.

I hit a snag when I used some new shea butter and my hair fell out! I mean a good amount. I went from my hair looking like this:

IMG_0313

To my hair looking like this:

IMG_8619

Yes, I’m bitter about my hair loss, but it’s slowly coming back. Anyways, after 8 months of being openly natural and using the Deva Curl Method, I’ve noticed there’s no difference from when I took out my braids.

I started talking to my friend, and she was telling me what she was using in her hair. And  showed me YouTube videos of natural hair treatments and products. I’m not going to lie…that was my hair wake-up call and it told me that I needed to do something new and now.

After that, I built a whole new regiment and products around the Deva Girl philosophy, “no silicones or sulfates”. I’ve started my new process and I’m going to be posting pictures and information about EVERYTHING I’m doing.

If you would like to see what I’m using for my new regiment please visit My Hair Care Regiment.

And you can always find this page on About My Natural Hair Journey section.

Kisses!!!!!

lip print 4

Information Courtesy of Mydevacurl.com

Image Courtesy of Google Images

2 thoughts on “About Me!!

  1. great points altogether, you just won a emblem new reader.
    What would you suggest about your post that you just made a few days in the past?
    Any certain?

Leave a Reply

