Marley Braids….Epic Fail x134!

Soooo….. I tried to put Marley Braids in myself because I went to YTU ( YouTube University) and I took Marley Braid Installment 101. I bought the hair, Eco Styler Gel, I had the time, and I had a line-up of Grey’s Anatomy episodes to entertain me.  I was ready.

I watched Donedo05’s Havana Marley Twists Tutorial Using the Natural Looking Invisible Roots Method tutorial several times and I thought, “I got this! I really got this! Mommy I’m going to do it! Yep! Let’s Go!

THE WORST IDEA I’VE HAD IN A VERY LONG TIME

Thank goodness I don’t have any photographic evidence. Because, the spacing wasn’t right and the braids weren’t tight…it was just awful. Three of them fell out before I could wrap my hair up for the night and that should have been a sign.

These things took me:

  • 6 HOURS to install
  • My moms help
  • And 4-6 Grey’s Anatomy episodes later

And they honestly looked like a 3 year-old was playing in my hair. It was such a hot-mess and I refused to go to work looking like a child’s play thing. Even if it didn’t go the way I planned or anticipated I learned a few thing.

  1. I can’t do hair. I can do my natural hair and recommend products, techniques, and show you how I do my hair. However, I can’t put in braids or maintain relaxed/permed hair. It’s just not in my skill level.
  2. I’m tired of braids. Shortly after I entered college I put braids in my hair until the end of my sophomore year. Yes, braids makes my life a lot easier but, it’s just to much for me to have braids in my hair again. I think I’ve had to much of a good thing.
  3. I love my natural hair. There are days, weeks, and possibly months where I hate doing my hair. Where I hate putting it in the same style. Where I hate just plain looking at it. After I took the braids out and re-washed my hair I fell in love with the texture, look, and feel of my hair. I just can’t think of putting braids back in my hair. I love my hair. I really do.

I hope you this helped. If you have any questions or concerns please leave it in the comments below or message me here.

Kisses!!!!

kiss_lips

Video Courtesy of Youtube

Information Courtesy of Donedo05

Image Courtesy of Google Images 

Leave a Reply

